Latest News

Lions outlast Cats to stay unbeaten

Lions outlast Cats to stay unbeaten

ANOTHER lopsided inside-50 count led to Geelong’s demise as Brisbane shot to the top of their AFLW conference with a 19-point win on Sunday.

The Lions went inside their attacking zone 39 times to the Cats’ 14 at GMHBA Stadium as Emily Bates and Alexandra Anderson racked up disposals at will.

Jesse Wardlaw kicked three majors and the visitors piled on five unanswered goals after halftime in their 6.3 (39) to 3.2 (20) victory.

The winless Cats suffered a double blow to their finals hopes when they lost young star Denby Taylor to an ankle injury before quarter-time.

The 19-year-old’s right leg twisted awkwardly in a Sophie Conway tackle and she was not seen again after being helped off the field.

In round one, Geelong were obliterated 48-13 in the inside-50 count by Fremantle and lost the match by 16 points.

It was a similar story on Sunday but the Cats defied the numbers through resolute defence in the first half and made the most of limited chances in attack to lead by 11 points at the main break.

Olivia Purcell was in the thick of the action with a goal in each of the first two quarters.

However, it always felt as if the weight of numbers would tell at some point and Brisbane kicked three goals to none in the third term to wrest control of the contest.

Dakota Davidson provided the best of the lot, feigning a kick to sidestep around an oncoming opponent before snapping truly from 40 metres out.

The goal was good but the celebration was better as she sprinted upfield with her arms raised and teammates in hot pursuit.

The Lions were not seriously challenged in the final term.

It was the first time a Brisbane team had won an AFL or AFLW match at Geelong’s home ground since their last men’s premiership season in 2003.

© AAP 2020

BRISBANE LIONS 1.0 1.2 4.3 6.3 (39)

GEELONG 2.1 3.1 3.1 3.2 (20)

Goals: Brisbane Lions: J Wardlaw 3 D Davidson G Bodey S Conway. Geelong Cats: O Purcell 2 D Higgins.

Umpires: Jacob Mollison, Michael Pell, Lucinda Lopes.

Venue: GMHBA Stadium.